1984-85 National Champion RIT men's hockey team to be inducted into Frontier Field Walk of Fame August 16

Joe Venniro - Executive Director of Sports Information


ROCHESTER, NY The 1984-85 Division III National Champion RIT men's hockey team will be inducted into the 2015 Frontier Field Walk of Fame in conjunction with the Greater Rochester Sports Authority on Sunday, August 16.  The squad is set to be honored in the "Team of the Ages" category.

The group will be honored before the Rochester Red Wings play the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees in Triple-A baseball action at Frontier Field. First pitch is scheduled for 1:35 p.m., with the ceremony scheduled to take place around 1 p.m. For ticket information, call (585) 423-WING (9464) or toll free outside the 585 area code, 1-800-447-2623. Tickets can also be purchased online.

The 1984-85 Tigers finished the season with a 26-6-1 record, defeating St. Thomas, Union, and Bemidji State in the NCAA Tournament to win the Division III national championship, RIT's second in three seasons. RIT outscored its opponents, 222-89 and boasted six 40-point scorers and 10 players with at least 30 points.
It is RIT's third "Team of the Ages" to be inducted into the Frontier Field Walk of Fame, joining the 1982-83 Division II National Champion men's hockey team in 2008 and 2009-10 Frozen Four men's hockey squad that was inducted later that summer.
RIT Affiliated Members Inducted into the Frontier Field Walk of Fame
1998   Lou Alexander Sr.      Athletic Director/Coach
1998   Bill Carey                   Men's Basketball
1998   F. Ritter Shumway     Ritter Arena
2000   Tom Coughlin            Football
2002   Ann Nealon               Men's/Women's Tennis
2003   Lou Spiotti Jr.            Athletic Director/Coach
2005   J. Roger Dykes         Sports Information
2005   Doug May                 Men's Soccer
2010   Al Vyverberg             Men's Hockey
2011   Earl Fuller                 Wrestling
2014   Bob McVean            Men's Basketball
Team of the Ages
2008   1982-83 Men's Hockey Team
2010   2009-10 Men's Hockey Team
2015   1984-85 Men's Hockey Team
Chairman's Choice
2014   Frank Ritter Arena